Little Shop of Horrors Trailer

My most recent challenge was to come up with a trailer for our production of Little Shop of Horrors. I admit, navigating this new art form has me stuck in a rut sometimes. All my ideas centered around using elements directly from the show – a song, images, the famous plant, but none of these ideas were, well germinating into anything interesting or practical to shoot. I’ve mentioned before, the biggest challenge with a trailer for a play is that most elements (wardrobe, props, PLANTS) aren’t available at the time of shooting. And scenes from a play shot on video are VERY tricky to get right. There’s a kinetic energy inside a theatre that doesn’t translate well to video.

My Marketing Director gave me a brilliant nugget of an idea, completely out of the box (or planter). She was really jazzed about our talking dogs in our last trailer, and wanted to bring that anthropomorphism to this concept. Real talking plants scaring real people. I ran with it, fleshed out a few scenes, and I’m very happy with the result. Her idea gave me just what I needed – a fresh new angle and an opportunity to use contemporary video in its best areas of strength: capturing everyday life with a whimsical twist.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Little Shop of Horrors Trailer

  1. Ann Depta

    Stan, I LOVE this. Ann

Leave a Reply

